Short report: What Twitter hashtags do translators use?

Someone asked what hashtags were most commonly used by translators. I have my own favourites, but I decided to have a closer look…

I downloaded the last 1,000 tweets from an archive of my timeline [1]. This included my own tweets and tweets of 222 of my followers. Although there is a clear bias in favour of my own favourite topics, I felt that as the great majority of my 600-odd followers are translators, I felt that this number would provide a reasonable sample.

I extracted all hashtags (712) from this data, and counted the frequency of each one.

I eliminated 56 “one-off” hashtags and present the remainder in the table below.

Hashtag Frequency
#xl8 191
#t9n 121
#language 73
#l10n 49
#ff 47
#translation 43
#mt 22
#linguistics 10
#google 8
#languages 7
#tm 6
#glossary 5
#mlwpisa 4
#xl8n 4
#english 4
#followfriday 3
#marketing 3
#fb 3
#chomsky 3
#acquisition 3
#russian 2
#tms_inspire 2
#tcdindc 2
#followsaturday 2
#przrom11 2
#g11n 2
#culture 2
#grammar 2
#tll11 2
#gstile 2
#translations 2
#humour 2
#review 2
#anthropology 2
#sundayfollow 2
#cmmi 2
#t9n 2
#y9n 2
#terminology 2
#linguistic 2
#definitions 2
#memoqfest 2
#dictionary 2
#mousalamanca 2
#physics 2
#crowdsourcing 2

[1] https://www.tweetscan.com/data.php

This entry was posted in OpenBorder and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Short report: What Twitter hashtags do translators use?

  1. Carlotta Saconney says:

    Thanks for this list. What a good idea! I think it could be even more useful if you wrote next to some of them their meaning (for example the meaning of #y9n).

  2. Paul says:

    My best guess is that #y9n is a typo 🙂 The “y” is right next to “t” on the keyboard – so I think that this is #t9n. I might have another go at this analysis sometime – I just need to think how I can get a bigger sample! Yes – adding the definitions is a good idea. (You can check out (or add) hashtag defintions at http://tagdef.com/ if you come across something new and unusual…

  3. Martin says:

    I think I can safely say I don’t understand any of this – and long may this state of affairs continue 🙂

  4. GPI says:

    That’s really a great blog post. We really appreciate such researches. this would really help us for creating more rich experience on twitter with language and translation tweets.
    http://www.globalizationpartners.com/

  5. I searched http://tagdef.com/ for #mlwpisa #tcdinc #tll11 #gstile but to no avail….

    As usual, Paul, you have your finger on the translator’s mind and you come out with all things useful, practical and down to earth (too many synonyms in the one sentence) in a true pioneering way.
    Many thanks!

  6. A bit late to comment, but thanks for creating this. Good idea ~

Leave a Reply

